Understanding The Techniques Of Meditation

technique of meditation

This combination allows for an environment that creates samadhi, or a heightened state of mental and physical well-being. The first type is Raja or phase meditation. In this form of meditation the goal is to experience the unchanging principles of unity and Oneness (at least for this moment).

It involves no effort to move or think; it’s simply sitting comfortably with eyes closed, gently resting on each other, and silently observing the breathing and movement of the body. The goal is to rest in the stillness of being, as energy flows through the body, bringing prana or the life force through the entire system.


A close up of a stuffed animal

Visuddha is sometimes called “no-mind” or “no-thought” meditation. It involves an awakening to the stillness of Oneness, which is not only better for your health and mental well-being, but also for your ability to live a fulfilling life. Most people think of this as an ordinary perception of reality. When you are awake, you are in the world and subject to the rules of psychology and physics. When you are meditating, you are attempting to transcend these boundaries by awakening to a higher level of consciousness, beyond all the usual rules.

The second technique of meditation is Japa. Japa is a very easy method of meditating, and for beginners it can be quite soothing. As you practice vipassana, you will become aware of all the elements of the universe, and as you focus on each element you will become aware of the movement or accumulation of this energy. You will then find yourself able to slow the accumulation, but you will never gain total control over it. Only when you let go of the desire to control it, will you be able to create its flow and convert it into your own power.

Remain Aware Of The Thoughts Arising In Your Mind

A woman sitting on a sofa

The third technique of meditation is to remain aware of the thoughts arising in your mind, but not to give any thought to them. Your mind wanders off to various objects or things, and these distract you from experiencing the Oneness of the reality you are trying to transcend. The more you dwell on such objects, the less of the intense sensations of Oneness you will experience.

The fourth establishment of meditation involves the development of the understanding that your spiritual and emotional growth can be measured by how you experience pleasure and other types of emotion. If you are trying to bring enlightenment, or the ultimate wisdom of Oneness into your life, these concepts will play an important role.

Many Different Styles Of Meditation

They form the basis of bodhicitta: turning the awareness from suffering to samadhi, or enlightened being. When you develop the ability to experience pleasure and other emotions, you will move closer to realization of the Buddha-hood you seek.

There are many different styles of meditation. A practitioner may select a particular practice depending on the instructions of the teacher, their own interests and personality. However, this does not mean that each person who seeks transcendental meditation will necessarily choose a particular style. The most important thing for each individual is the willingness to undergo the process and eventually transform it into a spiritual practice. Once that happens, the choice of which method of spiritual meditation to pursue becomes less important.


Ultimately, you must make your choice based on what makes sense to you. No one else can tell you what you should do, because each of us is here to learn and grow. If you are open and willing to undergo the process, you will discover that the various kinds of meditation practises have something useful to offer you. The most important aspect is that you must keep up the pace. The ultimate goal is transcendental enlightenment, but you can’t accomplish this unless you channel your mind, body and spirit in such a way that they work together in a unified way.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter